Oregon Thoroughbred Owners & Breeders Association

Promoting the owning, breeding and racing of Oregon Thoroughbreds

Portland Meadows Racetrack

The Oregon Thoroughbred Owners & Breeders Association (Oregon TOBA) is a non-profit corporation committed to serving the interests of Oregon's breeding and racing industries. Our mission is to increase public interest through promotion and advancement of the breeding and racing of Oregon Thoroughbreds. Our goal is to strengthen the Oregon Thoroughbred industry, in cooperation with our board of directors and members, both in breeding and racing with new innovative ideas and incentive programs for the betterment of our industry.


 1. Encourage the importation of outside Thoroughbred stallions and mares into Oregon for breeding

 2. Promotion of stakes races for 2-year-old Oregon-bred Thoroughbreds and Oregon-bred races, steeplechase, and jumping events for older horses. 

3. Support county fairs and hunt and riding clubs 

4. Establish breeders’ awards 

5. Encourage the use of Thoroughbreds in the sport of polo 

6. Develop and maintain a constant educational program with regard to Thoroughbred horses for members and the general public

Oregon-bred Programs & Incentives

Foal Registration Incentive: $1,000 is paid for foals born in 2023. $1,500 will be paid for foals born in 2024 & 2025.

Starting Bonus: Starting bonuses will be paid for each fair meet and the commerical meet.

Purse Supplements:  The OTOBA adds additional purse money to overnight races, stakes and handicaps.

Hi Point Challenge:  The OTOBA sponsors a summer fair meet challenge. Cash prizes are awarded to the owners of the top 5 fillies/mares and the top five colts/geldings.


Summer Fair Supplements:  The OTOBA adds purse money to Oregon-bred races at four county fairs in Oregon.

Breeder’s Awards:  The OTOBA pays the breeders of Oregon-bred Thoroughbreds a percentage of earnings on Thoroughbred races.


Owner’ Bonus: Bonus paid to owners of Oregon-bred Thoroughbreds who have earnings at the designated commercial race meet. Bonus is dependent on monies received per Oregon Racing Statute.


 *bonuses and awards paid on Thoroughbred races only.



 President - Connie Erickson
(503) 580-6246
Vice President - Michael Morris
Secretary - Gay Welliver

Elizabeth Albright
Sharon Balcom
Sally Cole, DVM
Connie Erickson
Lynsey Gates
Ry Harwood
Cathy Hopper
Denise Manning
Gerhard Matheis
Mike Morris
Tessa Plagmann
Jack Root, Jr. DVM
Gay Welliver
Donna Yanik


Lynnelle Fox Smith - Executive Director   
Nicole Palmateer Hazelbaker - Bravio Communications